Fonds d'entraide

L'Assemblée générale de l'AÉÉDEM a créé un Fonds d'entraide le 24 octobre 2018 et a affecté une somme initiale de 5 000 $ à des initiatives de solidarité pour les membres de l'AÉÉDEM ainsi que pour les membres de la communauté mcgilloise ou académique en général.

Le Fonds est destiné à des initiatives de solidarité, y compris, mais sans se limiter au :

  • Soutien à une grève

  • Soutien juridique, y compris les frais juridiques ou parajuridiques, aux frais de justice et les autres coûts associés à la mise en accusation en tant que défendeur.esse ou à l'introduction d'une poursuite civile ou criminelle contre une personne ou une institution.

  • Difficultés financières générales résultant de la précarité, de l'inégalité et/ou de l'austérité institutionnelle

  • Services de garde d'enfants de la communauté ou autres services de garde en milieu familial

  • Soins de santé

  • Soutien psychologique et autres soins de santé mentale liés aux traumatismes, aux mauvais traitements et/ou à la violence sexuelle

​Le Fonds d'entraide est destiné à soutenir à la fois les individus et les organisations / initiatives collectives.

Un comité du fonds d’entraide a été créé pour gérer le fonds de manière autonome et faire rapport au conseil des délégués de l’AÉÉDEM pour l’approbation finale des demandes. Les ressources du Fonds sont constituées par des contributions du budget de fonctionnement général de l'AÉÉDEM provenant des cotisations syndicales après un vote lors d'une assemblée générale. La contribution initiale au fonds pour l'année 2019 était de 5000 $ et une contribution supplémentaire de 6000 $ a été allouée au fonds pour l'année 2020. Des fonds supplémentaires peuvent être alloués à l'avenir. Les fonds peuvent être alloués par vote lors d'une assemblée générale.

Le Comité accepte les demandes pour l’entraide en tout moment. Cependant, comme l'approbation finale d'une demande doit être confirmé par le Conseil des délégués ou une assemblée générale, les demandeurs sont encouragés à soumettre leur candidature dix jours avant la prochaine réunion du Conseil des délégués ou d’une assemblée générale (vérifiez les dates ici). Cela permet de s’assurer que le Fonds dispose de suffisamment de temps pour évaluer suffisamment les applications. Pour les demandes reçues après cette date limite, le Fonds se réserve le droit de reporter l'examen des candidatures jusqu'à sa prochaine réunion. Le Fonds ignorera cette date limite lorsque l'allocation de fonds est urgente, comme pour le soutien à une grève, le soutien juridique ou les urgences sanitaires.

Pour faire une demande, veuillez envoyer le formulaire ci-dessous à mutual.aid@agsem-aeedem.ca. Toutes les demandes sont traitées avec la plus stricte confidentialité.

Suivez les liens ci-dessous pour le formulaire d'adhésion, les membres du comité du Fonds d'entraide et les nouvelles concernant le fonds d'entraide. Vous pouvez également envoyer un courriel au comité à l'adresse mutual.aid@agsem-aeedem.ca.

En savoir plus sur le comité

Remplir, signer et envoyer par courriel

Contacter le comité

En savoir plus sur les initiatives que nous avons financées

Mutual Aid Fund

The AGSEM General Assembly established a Mutual Aid Fund on 24 October 2018 and earmarked an initial $5000 for solidarity initiatives for members of AGSEM as well as members of the wider McGill or academic community.

​The fund is intended for solidarity initiatives including, but not limited to:

  • Strike support

  • Legal support including legal or paralegal fees, court fees, and other costs associated with facing charges as a defendant or bringing a civil or criminal suit against an individual or institution.

  • General financial hardship resulting from precarity, inequality, and/or institutional austerity, including difficulties resulting from the COVID-19 crisis.

  • Community childcare or other family care

  • Healthcare

  • Counseling and other mental health care related to trauma, abuse, and/or sexual violence

The Mutual Aid Fund is intended to support both individuals and organizations/collective initiatives.

​A Mutual Aid Fund Committee was established to manage the Fund autonomously and report to the AGSEM Delegates’ Council for final approval of requests. The resources for the Fund are constituted by contributions from the AGSEM general operating budget from union membership dues upon approval at a General Assembly. The initial contribution to the fund for the 2019 year was $5000 and an additional contribution of $6000 was allocated to the fund for the 2020 year. Additional funds may be allocated in the future. Funds may be allocated by vote at a General Assembly.

The Committee accepts applications to the Fund on a rolling basis. However, because final approval for an application must be made by the Delegate’s Council or the General Assembly, applicants are encouraged to submit their applications ten days prior to an upcoming Delegate’s Council or General Assembly meeting (check the dates here). This is to ensure that the MAFC has enough time to properly evaluate the applications. For applications that are received after this soft deadline, the MAFC reserves the right to postpone reviewing applications until the MAFC’s next meeting. The MAFC will overlook this soft deadline when the allocation of funding is time sensitive, such as for strike support, legal support, or health emergencies.

In order to apply, please send a filled Application Form available below at mutual.aid@agsem-aeedem.ca. All requests are treated with the strictest confidence.

​Follow the links below for the Application Form, the Mutual Aid Fund Committee members, and News about the Mutual Aid Fund. You may also email the committee at mutual.aid@agsem-aeedem.ca.

Learn more about the committee members

Fill out, sign, and email to apply for the MAF

Contact the MAF committee

Learn about the initiatives we have funded

Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill

The Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill (AGSEM) was accredited in 1993 to represent Teaching Assistants at McGill, making us the oldest TA Union in the province. Invigilators joined AGSEM in 2010 and Course Lecturers in 2011. Course lecturers have since separated into the McGill Course Lecturers and Instructors Union (MCLIU).

Email: mail@agsem-aeedem.ca

Phone: 514-398-2582

3641 rue University, suite 207
Montréal, Québec H3A 2B3

*Please note that our office is unfortunately not wheelchair accessible

© 2019 by The Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill.